The IWEPNM 2016 took place from February 13 to February 20, 2016. These pages are being retained for historical purposes.


Please have a look at our announcements for the IWEPNM 2016:

view online download as PDF
First announcement IWEPNM_2016_first_announcement.pdf
Second announcement IWEPNM_2016_second_announcement.pdf
Preliminary program IWEPNM_2016_preliminary_program.pdf
Abstractbook only available as PDF IWEPNM_2016_Abstractbook.pdf
Final announcement IWEPNM_2016_final_announcement.pdf


The winterschool will provide a platform for reviewing and discussing new developments in the field of electronic properties of molecular nanostructures and their applications.

The scope of the winterschool covers experimental and theoretical work in the following fields:

  • materials science of graphene and nanographene
  • novel two-dimensional materials
  • carbon nanotube / graphene optics and electronics
  • carbon nanotube / graphene growth and selection
  • theory of novel materials
  • applications of novel materials
  • nanostructure spintronics
  • topological insulators
  • single-molecule experiments

Theoretical and experimental contributions from research work in this new field of materials science are welcome.

Tutorials, research lectures and poster presentations will be scheduled for morning and evening sessions. The afternoon will be free for mini workshops, special tutorials and private discussions.

Program committee

E. Andrei (US) Y. H. Lee (KR) S. Roth (DE)
A. Bachtold (ES) A. Loiseau (FR) A. Rubio (ES)
H. M. Cheng (CN) J. Maultzsch (DE) P. Rudolf (NL)
P. Dinse (DE) F. Mauri (FR) C. Schönenberger (CH)
M. Dresselhaus (US) G. Mele (US) P. Sheng (CN)
L. Forro (CH) K. S. Novoselov (UK) N. Shinohara (JP)
M. Fuhrer (AU) E. Obraztsova (RU) F. Simon (HU)
T. F. Heinz (US) A. Penicaud (FR) C. Stampfer (DE)
A. Hirsch (DE) Th. Pichler (AT) C. Thomsen (DE)
A. Jorio (BR) M. Prato (IT) A. Zettl (US)
H. Kataura (JP) S. Reich (DE)  
H. Kuzmany (AT) J. Robertson (UK)

Invited speakers

G. Abellan (Erlangen, DE) N. Martin (Madrid, ES)
S. Adam (Singapore, SG) F. Mauri (Paris, FR)
N. Bendiab (Grenoble, FR) N. McEvoy (Dublin, IR)
G. Bepete (Bordeaux, FR) J. Meyer (Vienna, AT)
K. Bolotin (Nashville, US) M. Morgenstern (Aachen, DE)
F. Bonaccorso (Genova, IT) D. Neumaier (Aachen, DE)
P. Brouwer (Berlin, DE) C. Neumann (Aachen, DE)
H. Cheng (Shenyang, CN) L. Novotny (Zurich, CH)
K. Crozier (Harvard/Melbourne, US/AU) K. Nowack (Ithaca, US)
S. Dash (Gothenburg, SE) V. Perebeinos (Moscow, RU)
B. Dora (Budapest, HU) M. Pileni (Paris, FR)
K. Ensslin (Zurich, CH) A. Radenovic (Lausanne, CH)
M. Gibertini (Lausanne, CH) E. Rossi (Williamsburg, US)
R. Gorbachev (Manchester, UK) D. Roy (London, UK)
I. Grigorieva (Manchester, UK) G. Scalia (Luxembourg, LU)
P. Hakonen (Espoo, FI) A. Setaro (FU Berlin, DE)
M. Halik (Erlangen, DE) Y. Shi (Riverside, US)
S. Hart (Cambridge, US) H. Shiozawa (Vienna, AT)
T. Heinz (Stanford, US) C. Sotomayor (Barcelona, ES)
S. Hofmann (Cambridge, UK) A. Swan (Boston, US)
A. Jorio (Belo Horizonte, BR) E. Vazquez (Ciudad Real, ES)
L. Ju (Ithaca, US) N. Wang (Hong Kong, CN)
Y. Kato (Tokyo, JP) J. Warner (Oxford, UK)
Y. Kim (New York/Seoul, US/KR) W. Wenseleers (Antwerp, BE)
Y. Li (Beijing, CN) L. Xian (San Sebastian, ES)
M. Loi (Groningen, NL) K. Yanagi (Tokyo, JP)
A. Loiseau (Châtillon, FR) H. Yang (Seoul, KR)
P. Makk (Basel, CH) A. Zettl (Berkeley, US)